Pride of a dragon: Wales everything England weren’t

It’s five minutes after Wales’ staggering 3-1 victory over Belgium in the quarter finals of Euro 2016 and I’m still absolutely speechless- I’ve never seen anything like it.

As a proud Englishman I’m absolutely delighted for a Wales team that have just completely proved that they are not here to make up the numbers. Every single one of those Wales players should be so proud of themselves- they will have inspired a generation.

Chris Coleman said it perfectly in his post match interview: “Don’t be afraid to dream because then you can’t be afraid to fail”. Sounds like something out of a philosophy book doesn’t it?

Wales

I remember watching a rather poignant piece on Gary Speed before the tournament began. He was a player and manager that I grew up watching on the television as a youngster and I can’t help but feel this is for him. Part of this Wales squad was molded, formed by him and it’s such a reward for a man I wish was alive each and every day.

But most of all, watching this evening has completely and utterly proved just how bad England were during their defeat to Iceland. But I’m not going to talk about England- I’m going to talk about Wales. Heart, desire, passion are the three words that spring to mind. Every single Wales goal was celebrated as a group of around 30. All the players, all the management, all the coaches, all the physios- all in it together. That was so obviously lacking from the England side you could have seen it from space.

As much as I’m delighted for Wales, it does make it more difficult to be English. I thought we were the three Lions but out in France, it’s been the Dragon that has dominated.

Pride of a dragon: Wales everything England weren’t

Leave a comment